Type of organization

Type of organization

Type of organization

The Institute is a non-profit public institution overseen by an Executive Board of Governors consisting of top political leaders, with a Scientific Advisory Board of high-ranking international figures also playing an important role.

The oiip is a tax-privileged beneficiary pursuant to § 4 Z. 5 lit. e EstG (Austrian income Tax Act) 1988.

Board of Governors

  • Dr. Caspar EINEM, Former Federal Minister, President
  • Dr. Werner FASSLABEND, Former Federal Minister, Vice-President
  • Dr.in Ingrid GAZZARI, Treasurer
  • Dr. Manfred MATZKA, Vice-Treasurer
  • Mag.a Alev KORUN, Secretary
  • Dr. Helmut BRANDSTÄTTER, Vice-Secretary

Further Members:

  • Mag.a Muna DUZDAR
  • BM a.D. Dr. Peter JANKOWITSCH
  • BL Mag. Michael LÖWY
  • Dr. Thomas MAYR-HARTING
  • Dr. Marcus STROHMEIER


Advisory Board

  • Prof. Dr. Claudia ARADAU (Professor for International Politics, King’s College London)
  • Prof. Dr. Florian BIEBER (Head of the Centre for Southeast European Studies, University of Graz)
  • Prof. Dr. Ulrich BRAND (Professor for International Politics, University of Vienna)
  • Prof. Dr. Dan HAMILTON (Austrian Marshall Plan Foundation, Professor Johns Hopkins School of Advanced International Studies, Washington)
  • Prof. Dr. Fuat KEYMAN (Director Istanbul Policy Center and Professor for International Relations)
  • Prof. Dr. Wolfgang MERKEL (Director Berlin Social Science Center)
  • Prof. Dr. Shalini RANDERIA (Director Institute for Human Sciences – IWM, Vienna)
  • Prof. Dr. Nathalie TOCCI (Director Istituto Affari Internazionali, Rom)
  • Prof. Dr. Annick WIBBEN (Professor Swedish Defence University Stockholm)