Team

Management

Portrait:

Dr. Cengiz Günay
Director

+43 (0)1 581 11 06 /16
cengiz.gunay@oiip.ac.at

Areas of Expertise: Democracy and the rise of new forms of authoritarian governance, Neoliberal interventions and their effects, European Neighbourhood Policy, foreign policy-making processes, Islamism

Read more

Office Management

Academic Researchers

Portrait:

Dr. Vedran Dzihic
Senior Researcher

+43 (0)1 581 11 06 DW 34
vedran.dzihic@oiip.ac.at

Areas of Expertise: EU-Enlargement and Neighbourhood Policy, International Institutions,...Political Reform and Transformation Processes, Social Movements and Non-State Actors, State building/Peace Building/Resilience, Comparative Research on the Causes of Wars and Conflicts, Comparative Regional Research

Read more

Portrait:

Dr. Thomas Eder
Post-Doc Researcher

thomas.eder@oiip.ac.at

Areas of Expertise: Chinese foreign and security policy, the Belt and Road Initiative, China and international law, European China policy

Read more

Portrait:

Dr. Judith Kohlenberger
Senior Researcher

judith.kohlenberger@oiip.ac.at

Areas of Expertise: Refugee migration and integration, flight and education, the demography of displaced persons and crisis narratives

Read more

Portrait:

Dr.in Daniela Pisoiu
Senior Researcher

+43 1 581 11 06 - 37
daniela.pisoiu@oiip.ac.at

Areas of Expertise: Terrorism, Radicalisation, Extremism, European and International Security, Social Movements Comparative Research on the Causes of Wars and Conflicts

Read more

Portrait:

Mag.a Carina Radler-Sokolowski , MA
Researcher

carina.radler@oiip.ac.at

Read more

Portrait:

Mag.a Sophie Reichelt
Researcher

sophie.reichelt@oiip.ac.at

Read more

Portrait:

Annika Scharnagl, MA
Researcher

annika.scharnagl@oiip.ac.at

Read more

Portrait:

Dr. Loïc Simonet
Post-Doc Researcher

loic.simonet@oiip.ac.at

Areas of Expertise: Oil and Gas Pipelines in International Law and International Relations, Disarmament and Arms Control, Border Walls around the world

Read more

Portrait:

Johannes Späth, MA
Researcher

johannes.spaeth@oiip.ac.at

Read more

Fellows

Portrait:

Erik Isaksson, MA
Ernst Mach Fellow

erik.isaksson@oiip.ac.at

Areas of Expertise: Narratives, discourses, identity, status, East Asian (particularly Japanese) international relations, Japanese politics

Read more

Portrait:

Dr.in Sanna Strand
Postdoctoral Research Fellow

sanna.strand@oiip.ac.at

Areas of Expertise: Military recruitment and retention in Europe; Militarism and military legitimation; Nation branding and national identity; gender relations and gender mainstreaming policies within armed forces

Read more

Affiliated Researchers

Portrait:

Dr. Faruk Ajeti
Affiliated Researcher

+43 1 581 11 06
faruk.ajeti@oiip.ac.at

Areas of Expertise: Foreign Policy, Austrian Foreign Policy, Common Foreign and Security Policy of the EU, European Integration and Europeanisation. His regional focus is on South Eastern Europe and transatlantic relations.

Read more

Portrait:

Dr. Berfin Çakın
Affiliated Researcher

berfin.cakin@oiip.ac.at

Areas of Expertise: Political Psychology, Gender and Politics, Public Opinion, Civil Society, Turkish Politics

Read more

Portrait:

Dr.in Irene Costantini
Affiliated Researcher

costantinirene@gmail.com

Areas of Expertise: Politics of international interventions in conflict affected-contexts and post-conflict transition, focusing on the Middle East and North Africa region

Read more

Portrait:

Univ.-Prof. i.R. Dr. Heinz Gärtner
Affiliated Researcher

http://homepage.univie.ac.at/heinz.gaertner
heinz.gaertner@univie.ac.at

Areas of Expertise: Disarmament, Nuclear non-proliferation, Arms control, The Global Role of the USA,...Emerging Powers, EU-Enlargement and Neighbourhood Policy, Austrian Foreign, Security Policy Analysis

Read more

Portrait:

Dr. Christian Haddad
Affiliated Researcher

christian.haddad@univie.ac.at

Read more

Portrait:

Vito Morisco, MA
Affiliated Researcher

vito.morisco@hotmail.com

Areas of Expertise: Critical terrorism studies, political violence and Islamist movements

Read more

Portrait:

Dr. Jan Pospisil
Affiliated Researcher

2676843O@student.gla.ac.uk

Areas of Expertise: Peace and transition processes with a focus on the wider Red Sea region and East Africa, donor politics in peacebuilding, resilience, and South Sudanese and Sudanese politics

Read more

Portrait:

Laetitia Spetschinsky
Affiliated Researcher

laetitia.spetschinsky@uclouvain.be

Areas of Expertise: Eu-Russia relations, Russian foreign policy, geopolitics of the post soviet space.

Read more

Portrait:

Dr.in Saskia Stachowitsch
Affiliated Researcher

stachowitschs@ceu.edu

Areas of Expertise: EU-Enlargement and Neighbourhood Policy, Conflict and political violence,...Security Concepts

Read more

Portrait:

Dr. Aaron Tauss
Affiliated Researcher

aarontauss@yahoo.com

Areas of Expertise: International political economy, social movements in Latin America and socio-ecological transformation

Read more

Interns

Portrait:

Mariavittoria Maggi, BA
Intern


Read more

Portrait:

Anya McCrimmon
IMSISS Intern

Read more

Portrait:

Tara Miler, BA

Read more

Portrait:

Vincent F. Mo
Intern

Read more

Portrait:

Roman Rudenko, MA
Intern

Read more