Team

Management

Portrait:

Dr. Cengiz Günay
Director

+43 (0)1 581 11 06 /16
cengiz.gunay@oiip.ac.at

Areas of Expertise: Democracy and the rise of new forms of authoritarian governance, Neoliberal interventions and their effects, European Neighbourhood Policy, foreign policy-making processes, Islamism

Read more

Office Management

Academic Researchers

Portrait:

Clemens Binder, MA
Research Fellow

+43 1 581 11 06 DW 38
clemens.binder@oiip.ac.at

Areas of Expertise: European border and migration policy, critical security studies and politics of technology and security

Read more

Portrait:

Dr. Vedran Dzihic
Senior Research Fellow

+43 (0)1 581 11 06 DW 34
vedran.dzihic@oiip.ac.at

Areas of Expertise: EU-Enlargement and Neighbourhood Policy, International Institutions,...Political Reform and Transformation Processes, Social Movements and Non-State Actors, State building/Peace Building/Resilience, Comparative Research on the Causes of Wars and Conflicts, Comparative Regional Research

Read more

Portrait:

Sophia Fehrenbach, MA
Research Fellow

sophia.fehrenbach@oiip.ac.at

Areas of Expertise: Polarization, radicalization and political extremism, ISIS returnees, jihadism, conspiracy ideologies and potential prevention efforts, Transformative justice processes

Read more

Portrait:

Erik Hacker, LL.M.
Research Fellow

+43 1 581 11 06 - 32
erik.hacker@oiip.ac.at

Areas of Expertise: Terrorism, Radicalisation, Right-wing extremism, Jihadism

Read more

Portrait:

Dr. Christian Haddad
Senior Research Fellow

+43 (0)1 581 11 06 DW 36
christian.haddad@oiip.ac.at

Read more

Portrait:

Dr.in Daniela Pisoiu
Senior Research Fellow

+43 1 581 11 06 - 37
daniela.pisoiu@oiip.ac.at

Areas of Expertise: Terrorism, Radicalisation, Extremism, European and International Security, Social Movements Comparative Research on the Causes of Wars and Conflicts

Read more

Portrait:

Mag.a Carina Radler, MA
Research Fellow

carina.radler@oiip.ac.at

Read more

Portrait:

Jakub Zahora, PhD
Ernst Mach Fellow

jakub.zahora@oiip.ac.at

Areas of Expertise: Critical Security Studies, political ethnography, the politics of visuality and space, humanitarianism, the Israeli-Palestinian Conflict

Read more

Fellows

Portrait:

Dr. Ludmila Bogdan
Ernst Mach Fellow


ludmila.bogdan@oiip.ac.at

Areas of Expertise: Labor migration and economic deprivation link, Human trafficking and victimhood, Anti-trafficking information campaigns' effects on public perception, Human traffickers and prison research in Eastern Europe

Read more

Portrait:

Allison Castillo Small, BA
IMSSIS Fellow

2574450C@student.gla.ac.uk

Areas of Expertise: Connections between gender masculinities, crime and farright extremism, human approaches to CT

Read more

Portrait:

Annamaria Kiss, MA
Visiting Fellow

annamaria.kiss@kcl.ac.uk

Areas of Expertise: Transnational social movements and armed mobilisation, foreign volunteering in armed conflicts, North and South Caucasus, Russian counterterrorism policy

Read more

Portrait:

Dr. Shaimaa Magued
Ernst Mach Fellow

shaimaa.magued@oiip.ac.at

Areas of Expertise: International Relations of the Middle East, Turkish Foreign policy, Turkish-Arab Relations, and Transnational Advocacy, identity politics and their impact on intra-regional dynamics and the nature of interstate relations

Read more

Portrait:

Hallie Shlifer, BA
IMSSIS Fellow

2481986S@student.gla.ac.uk

Areas of Expertise: East Asian regional security, U.S.-Japan strategic relations, and a critical approach to the impact of technology — particularly surveillance and drones— on gender and security

Read more

Portrait:

Sanna Strand, PhD
Postdoctoral Research Fellow

sanna.strand@oiip.ac.at

Areas of Expertise: Military recruitment and retention in Europe; Militarism and military legitimation; Nation branding and national identity; gender relations and gender mainstreaming policies within armed forces

Read more

Affiliated Researchers

Portrait:

Columba Achilleos-Sarll, PhD
Affiliated Researcher

c.achilleos-sarll.1@bham.ac.uk

Areas of Expertise: United Nation’s Security Council’s ‘Women, Peace and Security’ (WPS) agenda, feminist and postcolonial theories of International Relations, feminist foreign policy, gender and security, the gendered nature of Brexit, UK foreign policy, and visual politics

Read more

Portrait:

Dr. Faruk Ajeti
Affiliated Researcher

+43 1 581 11 06
faruk.ajeti@oiip.ac.at

Areas of Expertise: Foreign Policy, Austrian Foreign Policy, Common Foreign and Security Policy of the EU, European Integration and Europeanisation. His regional focus is on South Eastern Europe and transatlantic relations.

Read more

Portrait:

Dr. Yasmin Chilmeran
Affiliated Researcher

Yasmin.Chilmeran@monash.edu

Areas of Expertise: Women's participation in peacebuilding, civil society, and the implementation and contestation of international gender frameworks in post-conflict settings, including the Women, Peace and Security agenda

Read more

Portrait:

Irene Costantini, PhD
Affiliated Researcher

costantinirene@gmail.com

Areas of Expertise: Politics of international interventions in conflict affected-contexts and post-conflict transition, focusing on the Middle East and North Africa region

Read more

Portrait:

Dr. Thomas Eder
Affiliated Researcher

thomas.eder@oiip.ac.at

Areas of Expertise: Chinese foreign and security policy, the Belt and Road Initiative, China and international law, European China policy

Read more

Portrait:

Univ.-Prof. i.R. Dr. Heinz Gärtner
Affiliated Researcher

http://homepage.univie.ac.at/heinz.gaertner
heinz.gaertner@univie.ac.at

Areas of Expertise: Disarmament, Nuclear non-proliferation, Arms control, The Global Role of the USA,...Emerging Powers, EU-Enlargement and Neighbourhood Policy, Austrian Foreign, Security Policy Analysis

Read more

Portrait:

Dr. Julia Sachseder
Affiliated Researcher

sachsederj@ceu.edu

Areas of Expertise: Political economy and (post)coloniality of (border) security, migration, violence and gender as well as private, non-state and corporate actors in peace and conflict

Read more

Portrait:

Dr. Loïc Simonet
Affiliated Researcher

loic.simonet@oiip.ac.at

Areas of Expertise: Oil and Gas Pipelines in International Law and International Relations, Disarmament and Arms Control, Border Walls around the world

Read more

Portrait:

Dr.in Saskia Stachowitsch
Affiliated Researcher

saskia.stachowitsch@oiip.ac.at

Areas of Expertise: EU-Enlargement and Neighbourhood Policy, Conflict and political violence,...Security Concepts

Read more

Interns

Portrait:

Linus Eberhart, BA
Intern

Read more

Portrait:

Aaron Gruber, BA
Intern

Read more

Portrait:

Rosa Hergan, MA
Intern

Read more

Portrait:

Anna-Maria Hirschhuber
Intern

Read more

Portrait:

Florian Lemmel, BA
Intern

Read more

Portrait:

Sophie Reichelt, BA
Intern

Read more

Portrait:

Caroline Ayşe Sarıçiftçi
Intern

Read more

Portrait:

Hugh Schmidt, MA
Intern

Read more