Team

Management

Portrait:

Univ.-Prof. Dr. Saskia Stachowitsch
Scientific Director

+43 (0)1 581 11 06 DW 23
saskia.stachowitsch@oiip.ac.at

Areas of Expertise: EU-Enlargement and Neighbourhood Policy, Conflict and political violence,...Security Concepts

Read more

Portrait:

Mag. Christian Arthaber
Managing Director

+43 (0) 660 244 88 10
christian.arthaber@oiip.ac.at

Read more

Portrait:

Dr. Cengiz Günay
Vice-Director

+43 (0)1 581 11 06 /16
cengiz.gunay@oiip.ac.at

Areas of Expertise: Democracy and the rise of new forms of authoritarian governance, Neoliberal interventions and their effects, European Neighbourhood Policy, foreign policy-making processes, Islamism

Read more

Office Management

Academic Researchers

Portrait:

Dr. Faruk Ajeti
Research Fellow

+43 1 581 11 06
faruk.ajeti@oiip.ac.at

Areas of Expertise: Foreign Policy, Austrian Foreign Policy, Common Foreign and Security Policy of the EU, European Integration and Europeanisation. His regional focus is on South Eastern Europe and transatlantic relations.

Read more

Portrait:

Clemens Binder, MA
Research Fellow

+43 1 581 11 06 DW 38
clemens.binder@oiip.ac.at

Areas of Expertise: European border and migration policy, critical security studies and politics of technology and security

Read more

Portrait:

Dr. Vedran Dzihic
Senior Research Fellow

+43 (0)1 581 11 06 DW 34
vedran.dzihic@oiip.ac.at

Areas of Expertise: EU-Enlargement and Neighbourhood Policy, International Institutions,...Political Reform and Transformation Processes, Social Movements and Non-State Actors, State building/Peace Building/Resilience, Comparative Research on the Causes of Wars and Conflicts, Comparative Regional Research

Read more

Portrait:

Erik Hacker, LL.M.
Research Fellow

+43 1 581 11 06 - 32
erik.hacker@oiip.ac.at

Areas of Expertise: Terrorism, Radicalisation, Right-wing extremism, Jihadism

Read more

Portrait:

Dr. Christian Haddad
Senior Research Fellow

+43 (0)1 581 11 06 DW 36
christian.haddad@oiip.ac.at

Read more

Portrait:

Lena Hager, MA
Research Fellow

lena.hager@oiip.ac.at

Read more

Portrait:

Mag.a Carina Radler
Research Fellow

carina.radler@oiip.ac.at

Read more

Portrait:

Christina Riegler, MA MA
Research Fellow

christina.riegler@oiip.ac.at

Read more

Portrait:

Dr.in Daniela Pisoiu
Senior Research Fellow

+43 1 581 11 06 - 37
daniela.pisoiu@oiip.ac.at

Areas of Expertise: Terrorism, Radicalisation, Extremism, European and International Security, Social Movements Comparative Research on the Causes of Wars and Conflicts

Read more

Fellows

Portrait:

Columba Achilleos-Sarll, PhD
Affiliated Researcher

c.achilleos-sarll@warwick.ac.uk

Areas of Expertise: United Nation’s Security Council’s ‘Women, Peace and Security’ (WPS) agenda, feminist and postcolonial theories of International Relations, feminist foreign policy, gender and security, the gendered nature of Brexit, UK foreign policy, and visual politics

Read more

Portrait:

Dr. Yasmin Chilmeran
Ernst Mach Fellow

yasmin.chilmeran@oiip.ac.at

Areas of Expertise: Women's participation in peacebuilding, civil society, and the implementation and contestation of international gender frameworks in post-conflict settings, including the Women, Peace and Security agenda

Read more

Portrait:

Irene Costantini, PhD
Ernst Mach Fellow

irene.costantini@oiip.ac.at

Areas of Expertise: Politics of international interventions in conflict affected-contexts and post-conflict transition, focusing on the Middle East and North Africa region

Read more

Portrait:

Lawreen Gyan-Addo, MA
IMSSIS Fellow

2486511G@student.gla.ac.uk

Areas of Expertise: Law and policy on the European asylum and immigration system, border control, and intersection between critical security studies and technology

Read more

Portrait:

Smera Jayadeva, BA
IMSSIS Fellow

smera.jayadeva@gmail.com

Areas of Expertise: Multi-disciplinary and postcolonial approach to geopolitics in the digital era

Read more

Portrait:

Dr. Julia Sachseder
Affiliated Researcher

julia.sachseder@oiip.ac.at

Areas of Expertise: Political economy and (post)coloniality of (border) security, migration, violence and gender as well as private, non-state and corporate actors in peace and conflict

Read more

Portrait:

Fazal Wahab, BA
IMSSIS Fellow

2486670W@student.gla.ac.uk

Areas of Expertise: Conflict and Violence, Violent Extremism and Radicalization that Lead to Terrorism (VERLT) and counterterrorism policies

Read more

Affiliated Researchers

Portrait:

Dr. John Bunzl
Affiliated Researcher

john.bunzl@oiip.ac.at

Areas of Expertise: Middle East, Israeli-Palestinian conflict, Islamophobia

Read more

Portrait:

Dr. Thomas Eder
Affiliated Researcher

thomas.eder@oiip.ac.at

Areas of Expertise: Chinese foreign and security policy, the Belt and Road Initiative, China and international law, European China policy

Read more

Portrait:

Univ.-Prof. Dr. Heinz Gärtner
Affiliated Researcher

http://homepage.univie.ac.at/heinz.gaertner
heinz.gaertnerunivie.ac.at

Areas of Expertise: Disarmament, Nuclear non-proliferation, Arms control, The Global Role of the USA,...Emerging Powers, EU-Enlargement and Neighbourhood Policy, Austrian Foreign, Security Policy Analysis

Read more

Interns

Portrait:

Manuel Bonat, BA
Intern

Read more

Portrait:

Lena Elena Nagler, BA
Intern

Read more

Portrait:

Magdalena Übleis-Lang, MA
Intern

Read more